Second chance: life after rematch ;)

img_0132It’s been a week since my last blog, one which was read by so many that I actually felt proud and re-energized. This week was weird in many ways. Why? Because it was a week of lasts and firsts. I said goodbye to friends (thanks for all the hugs!), my hostkids,their animals and to Larchmont and Mamaroneck, where I was introduced to the USA. But here I am now, meeting new people, trying new food and actually seeing a side of America not many tourists see.

The first few days of the week involved me taking care of the last straws. I went up to my bank and cancelled it because they don’t have that bank here in Arizona and I also figured out that I just didn’t have to pay for my phone to get it canceled. Then I started packing up sweaters and winter stuff to send it back home ( I regret some of it but more about that later), the shipping costs were insane though. Wouldn’t advise it. And then of course several lunches and coffee dates with other Au Pairs I befriended. Oh, how I’m gonna miss those Starbucks meetings on Wednesday evening.

When Thursday arrived I brought my hostdad to the station on last time, made breakfast for the youngest two and brought them to school. But oh dear Noa, she cried so badly when we had to say goodbye. It was heartbreaking. I spend the rest of my day skyping with my family and packing the last things. After a strange goodbye it was time to leave at 1:30 pm. I took a taxi to JFK, had minor troubles with checking in my bags and then I got in line for my luggage check. Took hours… But what else took hours? Yes right! The flight. 5 hours sure are a long time when there is not much to do. But while looking out of the window (I had the middle seat, the guy next to me smelled like weed) I realized how insanely big and empty this country is. With lights of cities sometimes staying away for minutes. But then finally I arrived.

Arriving was the easiet ever. I got out of the airplane and walked towards the luggage band without any security checks! That was so weird and quick. And there they were, my new hostfamily. I was greeted with flowers and I immidiatly put my hostgirl to work, looking for my very colorful suitcase. Coming to my first family was awkward but this felt good right away. We drove home and I could ask all the questions. Coming home was nice and I felt much more welcome.

Friday came and while I had a day off the kids’ father let me drive around the area to get familiar with it. I was happy to do it because I really like being busy. It’s a way to distract me from homesickness, which is getting much better with time passing. We want to a giant Wallmart, ate In N Out Burgers (I feel like everything is new, I’m eating new things and going to new shops!) and drove to every mall in the area. By the end of the day is was exhausted, but a good exhausted.
I spend the rest of the weekend driving as well and I joined my hostparents when they had to pick up my hostmom’s father, one and a half hour away. We stopped at sunset peak and took photos!img_0113

Sunday was more relaxed in preparations for thanksgiving week. My hostparents took me shopping for things I like to eat and also make this thanksgiving (I picked Boerenkool stampot, the Dutch dish) I’m looking forward to eating Turkey! haha.

So I’ll keep you up to date about my new life. It’s so different and I feel so welcome! I started working today and I will probably drive around a bit before my second shift starts. Not sure what I’m going to do yet. There are less Au Pairs here so I’m signing up for the gym to be busy twice a week and maybe I’ll find some shops to hang out at like Barnes & Nobles and the usual; Starbucks!

Leave a comment