First blog: about matching, saying goodbye and the final countdown

IMG_0253

American Oreos for an American Party

Hey hoi! Here I am, blogging away, telling about what is yet to come! I originally intented to vlog about my experience as an Au Pair (but hey we’re not all camera ready like all the famous youtube stars…) No really, I had a hard time telling my story in front of a camera and even though blogging is so mainstream right now I actually find it much easier and I already havy some experience with it. But I still wanted to do it English because it’s such an universal language and I’m going to an English speaking country after all!

But I’m not here to tell a story about vlogging and blogging but much rather about my upcoming adventure as an Au Pair in the USA! I can’t wait. A lot has happened already and I just want to share the most prominent things (if you have questions, feel free to ask!) Let’s start at the beginning.

 

The reason I became an Au Pair
I decided to become an Au Pair in December (But the idea had been there for years) and first went to a meeting in January. I’ve always loved children and I liked being around them, playing and working with them. I was immediately convinced and excited to start the adventure as an Au Pair. I originally wanted to be an Au Pair in the United Kingdom but I decided to take a big leap and do it in the USA anyway. I took my time filling in the application and getting references, I still had to wait a while before I could get my driver’s license in May (a very important part to the program) and when that was finally over and done with it was time to start the matching.

The matching process
Now I don’t know how long this process usually takes but for me it took from May to July, almost exactly three months. The system works as following: your profile goes online and families can view it, if they are interested they can easily put you on view  (and off view as well) and during that time they are the only family that can view your profile and message you to schedule an interview. So for me it took off pretty swiftly and I had multiple interviews with different families (all Dutch surprisingly) but then there was a month of nothing, just solid nothing! I started to doubt about myself, heard some possible reasons why I got nothing (too young, too little driving experience and no experience with children under 2) I was about to give up but then it took of again! And after one family that didn’t pick me my host family came around the corner!

It was really funny how this went. That morning I had been put off view and I was super sad but only minutes after that I was put on view again. I had one skype interview with them which went very well (I even got to talk to their youngest daughter) and they mentioned they had one other Au Pair to interview that evening and would let me know their decision the next day. I was afraid I was going to be let down again but the next day turned out to be only 3 hours because that same evening I got the message that I’d been offered an position. And I took it! I’m going to live with a Dutch family that has 4 children between the ages of 5 and 14. They live in a little village near New York City and I’m excited to join them.I’m not going to tell much about them (yet), mainly because I don’t know their privacy preferences  but I will certainly share a little bit more about them in the future.

Goodbye and let’s go to the USA!
Last Sunday I had my goodbye party with all my family and friends. Even though the weather sucked it was a great American style BBQ from the decoration to great meat (and homemade hamburgers). It was a lot of fun and I got some really nice gifts to survive my time in the USA (Dutch food like stroopwafels, hagelslag and liqourice, a travel dairy and a guide of New York City). And I also have some great new photos with everyone!

It was time for the scariest thing: my visa. Mom and I took a trip to Amsterdam to the US Consulate. During the preparation for that I was so anxious to make mistakes in my application but I the security let me in, I had to wait, talk a little at the window with some officers and then I heard the releasing word: You’re approved! I was so happy and relieved. Mom and I celebrated it with a big glass of coke (I was super thirsty and it was so hot!) After a hectic but exciting day we drove home, and here I am; counting down to my flight. 6 days left and I will be on a plane to JFK Airport to attend the introduction week.

There still some minor things to take care of as of now. I’ve had my last day at my new job last sunday and this week it’s packing and finishing the last things for the introduction (I have homework to do, hehe). I’m halfway through and there is still a lot to do!

Talk soon,
Saskia

6 thoughts on “First blog: about matching, saying goodbye and the final countdown

  1. Gertrud van den Elst-Jorritsma says:

    Dear Saskia,
    What a marvelous adventure! This will broaden your horizon, though you were doing pretty good already! Hope you have a pleasant time in spite of all the hard work and dedication that comes with the job. Looking forward to your stories! Succes!!
    Lots of love from Hans and Gertrud.

    Like

Leave a comment